Why I'm happy

This unofficial St Kilda Saints fan forum is for people of all ages to chat Saints Footy and all posts must be respectful.

Moderators: Saintsational Administrators, Saintsational Moderators

cannavaro17
Club Player

Why I'm happy

Firstly I can't believe that amount of BS about Watters and his staff. Wow I'm a self proclaimed novice when it comes to AFL but my eyes tell me he is doing a good job.

In 18 months, Watters & Pelchen have:

1. Kept us competitive.... you can't win them all and at the end of the day if we stay competitive... what more do you want. We watch the game for fun and to see our team get close is great because its a 'competition' sure we arent winning at the moment but I firmly believe everyweek we build a little tank and experience into our young kids. This will help us win in the long run. But please tell me... would you rather lose by 50 (alla collingwood) to sydney or by 14. So this tells me that we are consistently competitive against a range of oppoenents (i know this is only one crude example)

2. List Management - The young'uns and coming through. In 18 months we have the following players playing and improving:

-Ross
-Wright
-Newnes
-Hickey
-Roberton
-Webster
-Siposs
-Saad
-Simpkin (Albeit, he has not done well this year, does anyone know the full story IE injuries etc.)

They have got the following players taking more responsibility and doing well for long periods

-McEvoy
-Steven
-Armitage
-Geary
-Gilbert

They have gotten a new lease of life out the following:

-Riewoldt
-Montagna
-Gwilt
-Demptster

They have exposed the following kids to the game and in my opinion they have not looked out of water:

-Saunders
-Murdoch
-Lee
-White